GO Trains… Go Fish… Go Nuts!

Like many of you, I commute to work. And like many of you, I hate it with a fiery passion that rivals the highest setting on a conventional oven.

Alas, my daily combo of driving and public transportation isn’t going to change any time soon — not until Toronto’s housing in market figures itself out. Now, my gripe with commuting isn’t with GO Transit. For the most part, Metrolinx does a good job at getting me from home to work and vice versa. For me, it’s the little things that make the commute a hassle.

The fare hikes. Praying to the transportation gods that they’ll be a parking spot before 7:50 am. Watching the person across from you chow down on Mr. Sub and slurp on a Jugo Juice while that apple in your hand stares back at you silently, mocking you, as if to say, “Sorry bud, should have packed something tastier.”

And I’m supposedly someone who has it good when it comes to commuting. I don’t have to deal with weirdos fondling my hair; I don’t have to fight against throngs of commuters for breathing room and I don’t have to play that daily guessing game of “is-that-stain-on-the-seat-orange-juice-or-urine?”

If I sound like a person who complains and posts nothing but angry comments on YouTube, then you’ll have to forgive me. I haven’t had my dinner yet and like that guy from that Snickers commercial, I tend to not be myself when stomachs are grumbling. Now, I may not be able to do much about fair hikes and if I wake up late and can’t find a parking spot, it’s frankly my own fault. But I can do something about being hungry while on the train, bus or subway.

This week’s recipe is an adaptation from one of my recipe collections, The Sriracha Cookbook. It was originally intended as a party mix but I figured it’ll do just as well as something to pack in a Ziploc bag when you get hungry. While you can choose any type of nuts, I went with a pre-mix of almonds, walnuts, cashews, pecans and Brazil nuts.

Feel free to go with a salted nut mixture if you choose, just omit the sea salt unless you want to beg for water after the first handful. Also, if Sriracha is too hot for you liking, a tablespoon of a milder hot sauce and a pinch of cayenne pepper will work just as well. You can also sub in Cheese Nibs or any type of small cheese cracker if Goldfish isn’t your thing but just don’t call it a Go Fish And Go Nuts Party Mix if you do.

Feature IMG_0612

Go Fish And Go Nuts Party Mix

Adapted From The Sriracha Cookbook

-2 cups of mixed nuts, unsalted (pecans, almonds, Brazil nuts, walnuts, cashews)

-1-and-a-half cups of Goldfish crackers

-1/2 a cup of pretzels, unsalted

-2 large eggs, whites only

– 1/2 a cup of brown sugar (125 mL)

-1/4 of a cup of granulated sugar (75 mL)

-1 tbsp of sea salt

-2 tsp of maple syrup

-1 of Sriracha hot sauce

Makes four cups of party mix

IMG_0584

1. Preheat the oven to 250°F. Next, line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl combine pretzels, Goldfish, nuts and mix well. Set aside.

IMG_0589

2. In a separate bowl, blend sugars and salt. Mix thoroughly and side aside.

IMG_0594

3. In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, egg whites and Sriracha. Keep whisking for about two minutes or until tiny bubbles rise to the surface of the mixture.

IMG_0601

4. Add egg-white mixture to nut mix and toss to coat evenly. Next, pour the sugar-and-salt blend over the nuts, stirring to coat.

IMG_0604

5. Using a silicon spatula, spread the nuts evenly onto the parchment paper. Bake for one hour, turning every 15 minutes.

IMG_0605

6. Let the nuts cool for 10 minutes and savour on the bus, train, subway or at home. Nuts tend to go rancid due to their high oil content so pack the rest in an airtight container.

IMG_0611

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Nuts, Recipe, Snacks

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

