Brand New Day

Two-hundred-and-ninety-one days have passed since my last post on this site. That’s a pretty long vacation by anybody’s standards. But to be honest, I think it’s the 20-minute struggle to remember my WordPress login that speaks to my inactivity louder than numbers ever will.

A lot’s happened in those 291 days. I finished my undergrad. I said good-bye to living in the city. I said hello (again) to life in suburbia. I met Susur Lee during my first journalism internship and covered a shooting in the second. I got a job with the Huffington Post Canada as their travel editor and continue to love every day of it.

And in between all that, I ate a lot of really, really, good food with the company of some truly great friends. All and all, it’s been a great 291 days and 2012 has treated me well. I’d like to think I’ve grown up from that guy in university who started this blog as a means to define myself — to stand out in a crowd of people who remain to this day, both parts equally talented and dedicated to writing for a beat or audience that they so very much care about.

It’s in that rush to become a professional that I’ve let my passion for all things food fall to the side. Thankfully, it wasn’t until I had a dinner with a coworker one night that I realized that the dedicated don’t make excuses, they make time.

So, here’s to getting back on the horse of shopping, cooking, photographing, writing and of course, eating. The BLT Project continues my friends. Here’s to a brand new day.

IMAG0568

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

